Fire Eric Bruntlett

There's only one Bruntober

Phillies Playlist

The mp3 player has to be one of my favorite inventions ever.  I’m constantly making playlists for it and with all the Phillies madness of late, I’ve been thinking of my perfect Phillies playlist.  I’ve got songs that remind of the awesomeness of the Phils and pump me up for gametime.  I’ve also got songs that I associate with the players.  For the most part with the players I chose their batting music, however with some of them their music wasn’t quite my taste so I chose something I found appropriate for them.  I got most of the imporant players but I got tired of posting stuff and went to bed (no lie, maybe I should have started posting this before midnight…I know I’m brilliant).  I’m still looking for a good Pedro Martinez and J.A. Happ songs among others.  The playlist as it stands is  what I’ll be listening to at work today to bide my time before World Series Game 1.

Post your suggestions/what music you use to get in the perfect mood for the Phils below!

1. Gonna Fly Now

You HAVE to start with the Rocky theme. I don’t care how cliched and hackneyed it might seem, it’s THE Philadelphia sports theme.

2. Harry Kalas saying, “Outta Here!”

A necessity.

3. Phillies Fever

A terrible 70s song in the vein of “Buddy’s Watching You” but fun and about the Phillies. Plus, how can you beat that awesome Larry Bowa-Mike Schmidt dialogue?

4. Survivor – Eye of the Tiger

Another cliche, but again a necessity!

5. Ill State of Mind

NeeKo’s remix of Jay-Z’s Empire State of Mind has been tearing the Philly blogosphere up and it’s only fitting that it end up in this mix. (thanks to Phinally Philly for alerting me to this in the first place)

6. Scott Franzke’s call of Jimmy Rollins’ walk off hit in Game 4 of the NLCS

Phenomenal call that makes me smile every time.

7. Green Day – St. Jimmy

This song always reminds me of J-Roll for some reason.  “St. Jimmy’s comin’ down across the alleyway / Up on the boulevard like a zip gun on parade / Light of a silhouette / He’s insubordinate”.

Plus Green Day is from Oakland, just like J-Roll.

8. “Fuck yeah Jimmy”

Shane Victorino is awesome.

9. Bob Marley – Buffalo Soldier

Oh no questions asked you have to use this song for Shane, it’s his at-bat music and it’s awesome.

10. No Questions Asked

And what’s a Phillies mix without a “No Questions Asked” thrown in there? Not much of a Phillies mix.

11.  Chase Utley – World Fucking Champions

‘Nuff said.

12. Harry Kalas – Chase Utley, You Are The Man

‘Nuff said…again!

13. Led Zeppelin – Kashmir

Chase’s badass at-bat song. It’s Zeppelin and it’s awesome.  If you’re a douche bag you could use Puff Diddizlle Combs’ “Come With Me”, but you’re not a douche bag are you? Didn’t think so.

14. Run DMC – King of Rock

Choosing a song for Howard actually gave me a surprising amount of trouble (and I’m sure I’ll come up with one as soon as I post this).  I ended up going King of Rock because it’s old school, got a great beat, and just reminds me of our NLCS MVP for some reason.

15. Kings of Leon – Sex On Fire

Jayson Werth’s at-bat song. Gotta love that he uses the part that says, “And we’re still the greatest”

16. Pearl Jam – Save You

Rauuuuuul’s at-bat song. It’s Pearl Jam. Huzzah.

17. Linkin Park – Faint

Pete Happy’s at-bat song at some point.  It was in my iTunes.

18. Clip saying “Feliz” from Feliz Navidad

Pete Happy did something good at CBP! They play “Feliz”!

19. Van Halen – Ice Cream Man

What else am I supposed to play for the ice cream king of Philadelphia? I even added a few Chooch clips into the song for extra enjoyment. (I’ll try and upload this later)

20. Tenacious D – Lee

Cliff Lee baby!  We’re talkin’ fuckin’ Lee!

21. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Hollywood

Cole “Hollywood” Hamels with an appropriately titled song.  The lyrics kind of work considering Cole’s pitching the first Phils home game in the World Series this year.

22. The Ranconteurs – Steady As She Goes

Good old steady Joe.

23. Green Day – Lights Out

Brad Lidge baby!  I enjoy the song and it has hit nickname, good enough for me.  I also considered Rage Against the Machine’s Guerrilla Radio.

24. Harry Kalas 2008 World Series Final Out

“Swing and a miss! Struck him out! The Philadelphia Phillies are 2008 world champions of baseball!”

25. Blues Brothers – I Can’t Turn You Loose

Celebration at CBP!

26. Bobby Burnett – Goin’ Back To Philadelphia, PA

Played all the time after Phillies wins.

27. Harry Kalas – High Hopes

Classic. Wouldn’t be a Phillies playlist without it.

Thanks to everyone on Twitter for their recommendations as well as many of the Philly sports blogs for the various clips mentioned.  By sports blogs I mean The Fightins, because I’m pretty sure I got almost all of those audio clips from there.  Let’s go Phils!

BONUS TRACK:

Eric Bruntlett doesn’t deserve to be listed with everyone else so he gets the hidden/bonus track spot here.  Death Cab For Cutie’s The Sound of Settling would be my song for Bruntlett.  I think the title is pretty self explanatory.

October 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Just realized this now… basically any of three great songs from Rocky would work here, right? Gonna Fly Now, Eye of the Tiger, and Final Countdown? Final Countdown wasn’t actually used in the movie, but still featured on the Rocky IV soundtrack. Plus, it has one of the best intros in music history.

    Comment by Max | October 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Also, the Phillies’ “I Got A Feeling” remix (http://bit.ly/4kZqsQ)… and there’s a YouTube video I’m looking for, a Phillies rap uploaded soon after NLCS Game 4. Anyone know what I’m talking about?

    Comment by Max | October 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] realized last week that music is a great way to talk about the Phillies, thanks to Steve’s Phillies Playlist. Well, as I was combing through my iPod earlier today, I realized how many songs can describe the […]

    Pingback by Really Late Stuff: For Your Inspiration – World Series, Game 6 « Fire Eric Bruntlett | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. […] realized last week that music is a great way to talk about the Phillies, thanks to Steve’s Phillies Playlist. Well, as I was combing through my iPod earlier today, I realized how many songs can describe the […]

    Pingback by Fire Eric Bruntlett » Blog Archive » Really Late Stuff: For Your Inspiration – World Series, Game 6 | January 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

