Fire Eric Bruntlett

There's only one Bruntober

Thrown out in Center, Flied out to short…

So yesterday’s Phillies game turned out to be most likely the worst game of the season. With questions about the rotation looming over the club, Jamie Moyer got bloop singled to death. Moyer, who usually owns the Marlins just couldn’t get guys out. I do have to give credit to the Marlins and their hitting coach. They relized that they needed to find a way to beat Jamie Moyer and they did exactly that. They didn’t drive the ball very well, but that is hard to do when you are getting jammed all day. But they did figure out how to turn the inside pitches into bloop singles. And slowly but surely they tacked on 3 runs.

This is when all Hell broke loose.  In the bottom of the sixth inning, Ryan Howard got rung up on a very questionable strike call. Ed Rapuano was the man behind the plate and when the top of the 7th rolled around, he was heated. After another questionable call, this time a pitch from Lopez called a ball, Victorino, who was playing CF at the time, through his arms up in the air in disgust. Rapuano saw him, pointed at him, and then tossed him from the game.

“I’ve got to hold myself accountable,” said Victorino after the Phillies’ horrible 12-3 loss. “It’s not something that you should be doing, but I’ve done it 1,000 times this year. It’s not the first time — and I’m not trying to show anybody up. Just things got built up from the half-inning before that, and it’s just one of those things I let my emotions get the best of me.”

Victorino was confused at first when he was tossed, but once he figured it out, he quickly sprinted in to the home plate area and let Rapuano have a piece of his mind. “I was like, ‘OK, I might as well get my money’s worth, I’m gone,'” Victorino said. “I definitely had no intention of touching him or anything like that. Both Victorino and Rapuano said that there was no contact between the two of them, so there shouldn’t be any suspensions handed down.

After all the craziness, the teams got back to baseball and Lopez and the Phillies played there way out of a comeback. Werth, who came in for Victorino after the ejection, misplayed a liner to centerfield with the bases loaded and all 3 runners ended up scoring.

So there was too much that could have made this game worse, but then as I sat on my couch in the living room, I heard the dreadful sentence, “So Eric Bruntlett is gonna bat for the pitcher.” Quickly I tweeted, “Oh no… the beard is in.” and quickly into the at bat Bruntlett flied out to the short stop. So my first tweet was quickly followed by, “and he flies out… shocker.”

So the Phillies have off today as they travel to Chicago for a 3-game series with the Cubs. Thursday’s game is a day game and we at fireericbruntlett.com will be hosting another live game chat. So feel free to stop by and join us for some fun chatter as we watch the Phillies and Cubs.

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

